A Summary of "Spider-Man: The Animated Series"

by K.C. Moore

"Spider-Man: The Animated Series" aired as part of the Fox Kids programming block from 1994 to 1998. It consisted of 65 episodes. The series was the first cartoon adaptation of Spider-Man to utilize 3-D computer animation, giving the scenes of Spider-Man web-slinging through the streets of New York a new level of realism. "Spider-Man: The Animated Series" was known for its use of season-long story arcs, and the series used internal dialogue to give the viewers a look into Peter Parker's thoughts, much like the thought bubbles used in Spider-Man comics.

Season 1

Spider-Man is already established as a superhero at the beginning of the series' first season, which introduced several members of his rogue's gallery, including Doctor Octopus, the Lizard, the Hobgoblin and the Chameleon. The overarching storyline of the first season focused on the Kingpin and his efforts to destroy Spider-Man. It also included a three-episode story arc that showed Spider-Man obtaining his black alien suit and losing it to Eddie Brock, who would become the fearsome Venom.

Season 2

The second season began with Spider-Man having to battle the Insidious Six, a group of villains comprised of his most fearsome foes. Spider-Man also teamed up with the X-Men during a two-part crossover to fight an evil scientist named Landon. The rest of the season focused on a story arc called "Neogenic Nightmare," in which Spider-Man battled against Mobius, the Living Vampire. Season 2 also featured guest stars such as The Punisher and Blade the vampire slayer.

Season 3

Season 3 begins with Spider-Man teaming up with the master of the mystical arts, Dr. Strange, to save Mary Jane from Baron Mordo. The overarching storyline for Season 3 focused on Norman Osborn's transformation into the Green Goblin and his ongoing battle against Spider-Man. Spider-Man also teamed up with Daredevil for a two-episode storyline that pit the two against the Kingpin. Season 3 includes the return of Venom and his offspring, Carnage, along with Spider-Man's first encounter with Madam Web, who tells Spider-Man she is preparing him for a great battle.

Season 4

The overarching storyline for Season 4 involves Peter Parker's relationship with the two women in his life -- Mary Jane and Felicia Hardy. Felicia becomes the superhero Black Cat after receiving a dose of Super Soldier serum. Spider-Man must also do battle with his friend Harry Osborn, who has taken on the mantle of the Green Goblin. This season introduces the vigilante The Prowler and ends with Peter's proposal to Mary Jane.

Season 5

Season 5 begins with the wedding of Peter Parker and Mary Jane. Spider-Man teams up with Captain America and the Warriors and learns that his parents were secret agents. Season 5 includes a three-part episode called Secret Wars in which Spider-Man teams up with several Marvel Superheroes to fight a legion of villains. The final story arc features the ultimate battle that Madam Web prepared Spider-Man to fight. He must team up with alternate versions of himself from other universes to stop an evil version of himself called Spider-Carnage.


About the Author

K.C. Moore has been writing professionally since 2008. He has contributed to "Eye on Life," Kingdom Hearts Ultimania and several online publications. Moore has also worked professionally as a game adviser for Blockbuster Video since 2004. Moore is a graduate of Central Michigan University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science in English with a concentration in creative writing.