Summary of ''Brisingr'' by Christopher Paolini

by Toby Welch

"The Seven Promises of Eragon Shadeslayer and Saphira Bjartskular," or "Brisingr," as it is more commonly known, is the third book in the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. "Brisingr" was planned to be the last book in the Inheritance Trilogy, but that changed when Paolini was unable to finish the complex storyline in just one more book. "Brisingr" was released on September 20, 2008, and a deluxe edition including previously deleted chapters and unseen art was released on October 13, 2009.

Introduction to "Brisingr"

"Brisingr" is a young adult, high fantasy book. It continues the story of Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, as they continue their quest to overthrow Galbatorix, the corrupt ruler of Empire. "Brisingr" starts three days after the second book in the Inheritance Cycle series, "Eldest," left off. "Brisingr" was published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, and it debuted at No. 1 on USA Today's bestseller list. It sold 550,000 copies on its first day of sale.

First Half of "Brisingr"

"Brisingr" picks up at the point where Eragon, Saphira and Roran travel to Helgrind. They rescue Roran's love, Katrina, from her captors. They all eventually escape to Varden. A wedding is planned for Roran and Katrina, but before it takes place, troops attack. After the battle, the lovers marry and Eragon heads to the forest for an election of the new dwarf king. After Orik is elected king, Eragon and Saphira head to Ellesmera for training. Once there, Eragon discovers his dead mentor was actually his father.

Second Half of "Brisingr"

Once Eragon finishes training, he receives a sword, which he names Brisingr. It is now time for Eragon and Saphira to oppose the Empire. While the others are training, Roran is sent on various military missions. In his latest mission, Roran opposes the commander's orders and leads his men to victory. Despite the ideal ending, Roran is charged with insubordination and is beaten and whipped. Later, Roran is promoted to commander and goes on a mission with the Urgals. Back in Varden, Roran's men and Eragon have to fight three magicians, and Galbatorix deals with trying to bring Oromis to his side. Glaedr is killed during the siege. The warriors are successful.

Details About "Brisingr"

"Brisingr" takes place on a fictional continent, Alagaesia. Elves, dwarves and the occasional dragon live on Alagaesia. The story is told in the third-person from the perspective of many of the main characters, including Eragon, Saphira and Roran. The majority of the characters are back from the first two books in the Inheritance Cycle series, "Eragon" and "Eldest." The language used by the elves is based on Old Norse. Once the author realized he would need four, not three, books to complete the series, he changed the name of the series from the Inheritance Trilogy to Inheritance Cycle. The fourth book in the series is called "Inheritance."


  • "Brisingr"; Christopher Paolini; 2008
  • "The Inheritance Almanac"; Michael Macauley and Mark Vaz; 2010
  • "What Will Happen in Eragon IV: Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Becomes the Third Dragon Rider and How Will the Inheritance Cycle Finally End?"; Richard Marcus; 2009

Photo Credits

  • Images